Remember that .org (organization), .gov (government), and .edu (education) sites are more reliable and accurate than most .net (network) and .com (commercial) sites, but they are all worth exploring. A published date and an author/publisher on the webpage makes the website more authoritative (which is better than a generic site). Here is a list of Internet Resources to get you started, but use suggested search terms & tips above to help you independently find other sites/resources.
PLEASE!! If you come across an excellent source during your research, please share the site with Mrs. Frech so it can be added to the LibGuide. You can either stop by to see Mrs. Frech in the Library or send her a gmail. Thanks!
See below for some websites to get your research started.
INFOhio, a statewide cooperative school library and information network, supports and enriches teaching and learning by providing equitable access to quality resources on a variety of curricular topics for Ohio's PreK-12 community of students, educators and parents. INFOhio's components include electronic resources for schools, instructional development for teachers, and school library automation -- all promoting information literacy and media literacy through the use of technology. INFOhio provides the following: large, organized collections or maps, pictures, and charts; full-text magazine and newspaper articles; online encyclopedias and dictionaries in English and Spanish; homework help and tutorials, test-taking strategies, and more. Explore the many helpful, ever-growing, and ever-changing databases provided by INFOhio. (Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are having difficulty accessing any of the sites below using the hyperlinks provided, try using one of these:
The Discovering Collection provides quick access to accurate information via an intuitive interface that takes the guesswork out of research. Gale's Discovering Collection allows students access to information on any curriculum topic. Designed for the high school student, Gale's Discovering Collection presents a core collection of essays, reference works, and magazine articles on the subjects of biography, history, science, and social studies. Users can search by person, time period, work or genre of literature, or keyword. The database includes the following: biographies, essays and overviews, criticisms, timeline events, primary source documents, images, maps, flags. audio, video, and more. (Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
394.2663 ENC Encyclopedia of Christmas
R 394.266 GUL Encyclopedia of Easter, Carnival, and Lent
|
|
|||
-Do you know the difference between the and/not/or search? Ask me if you'd like to know!
-If you using multiple search terms, you can literally use a “+” sign or the word “and” between the terms (e.g. Christmas traditions and Spain)
-You should use the Advanced Search features on a website whenever/wherever possible.
-Internet sources may be okay, but databases guarantee reviewed content that is evaluated for authority and accuracy, which means you have direct (and free) access to current, quality, and scholarly information (that comes complete with citations)
-List of possible search terms to use:
· Christmas + Spanish customs and legends
· Christmas + Mexican customs and legends
· Christmas + Spain
· Christmas Traditions + Spain
- Holy Week in Spain
- Easter in Spain
- Semana Santa (which means Holy Week for Spanish speaking countries)
Note: for specific searches like the two above, you can specify by putting Christmas (or Holy Week) + ? (and for the “?” you would want to add any country in which Spanish is the official and national language, which would be the following: Spain, Columbia, Peru, Venezuela, Ecuador, Guatemala, Cuba, Bolivia, Honduras, Paraguay, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Panama, Equatorial Guinea, and Puerto Rico)