SPANISH LANGUAGE RESOURCES: HOME

NOT SURE WHERE TO START? You can be try out your own researching skills and start exploring on your own...or you can try Mrs. Frech's suggestions for where to start for this particular assignment.

1) Print or E- Resources: There may be print resources available for a particular project. Check with your teacher and/or Mrs. Frech. You may also want to explore the Padua Library Catalog tab above. 

2) Databases & Websites: For academic resources, it is always wise to branch out to databases, so be sure to explore this tab: "Databases: List of All Padua Databases." Keep in mind that many teachers will require databases over general websites, because databases are subscription sites paid for through Padua that contain academic information that has been peer reviewed and evaluated for authority, accuracy, and currency. Which database you select would be based on the specific information you are seeking, but based on most projects, I would recommend the following:

• First, I would highly suggest the Gale Databases, because they are very informative as well as user-friendly. Gale databases are relatively easy to navigate, and they even offer topic assistance. To add to that, Gale makes it easy to save your information and also offers citation information. Padua students recommend this database, so go to the databases tab and check out the following (and remember, passwords are needed for accessing databases from home):
  • Gale: Country Reports
  • Gale: Student Resources in Context
  • Gale: Global Issues in Context
  • Gale: World History in Context
  • Gale: Biography in Context
  • Gale: Virtual Reference Library (e-Resources)
  • Gale: Other Database Options
• I would also suggest the following INFOhio databases (and remember, passwords are needed for accessing databases from home):
  • INFOhio: iSearch (scroll INFOhio to find iSearch box)
  • INFOhio: Hispánica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispánica (be sure to click green OPEN box)
  • INFOhio: Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (be sure to click green OPEN box)
  • INFOhio: Biography Reference Bank (be sure to click green OPEN box)
  • INFOhio: Other Database Options
• As for websites, I would also suggest the following:
  • Explore the tab WEBSITES: Spanish Sites on the Internet

4) IMPORTANT REMINDERS:

• Remember to keep a doc containing a breadcrumb trail of your visited sites, etc. to assist with location and citation.
• You can access LibGuides & Databases from home (see "Help at Home" below).
• Locate your Database Username & Password chart (it was gmailed to you/shared with you).
• Know how to "copy" any information for resources that you cannot check out of the Padua Library.
• Always know that you can stop up in the Library or email Mrs. Frech if you need assistance.

ACCESSING LIBGUIDES: You can access all available LibGuides, Padua Databases, and the Padua Library Catalog both at school and from any place where you have internet access. The LibGuides link and all other required information can be found in MyPad > Groups > Padua Library > Quick Links > LibGuides.

LOOKING FOR A PARTICULAR LIBGUIDE? Remember, if you are looking for a particular LibGuide, go into LibGuides and look under the class SUBJECT. 

DATABASE USERNAME & PW REMINDER: Most Padua Databases require PW info, especially if you are off school premises. This access info is private; therefore, it cannot be posted on this site, so you can find this info in MyPad > Groups > Padua Library > Quick Links > Database Usernames & Passwords