On this page you will find links to all databases to which Padua subscribes. You will notice that individual sites within that specified database have been described separately to help you locate what you need more effectively. Be sure to read the imporant note below. (If you need any help, ask Mrs. Frech, the Librarian.)
IMPORTANT USERNAME & PASSWORD INFO: Some databases (particularly those that you access from home) will require usernames and/or passwords. I cannot legally post usernames and/or passwords for databases on LibGuides; therefore, you need to have the "Chart of Padua Database Usernames & Passwords," which you can obtain by checking your gmail (put either "Frech" or "database" in the search box at the top of your gmail page). Mrs. Frech has sent you an email notification sharing the usernames and passwords with you. If you are having difficulty, you can either gmail Mrs. Frech or go up to see Mrs. Frech in the Padua Library.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you experience any difficulties accessing the listed databases, please inform Mrs. Frech, the Librarian, so she can fix the problem as soon as possible. You can stop up to the Library to let her know...or you can send her an email: afrech@paduafranciscan.net
Based on the Chromebooks, these are the best methods for students to use if they would like to “save” an entire article from a database for later reading:
1) DOWNLOAD – Your Librarian feels that this is the best method to save a specific article from a database. Students can download an entire article (preferably as a pdf to get rid of unnecessary images, margins, etc.), and the downloaded article will go directly into Google Drive on the student Chromebooks.
2) EMAIL – This method is okay, however, students would need to use a “personal” email account and NOT their Padua gmail. Too many unknown sites are blocked by the Chromebooks, and the article may not make it through. The problem with using a personal email, of course, is that students cannot access the information at school or on their Chromebooks (which is why the Librarian prefers the “DOWNLOAD” option).
3) BOOKMARK – This method will show the complete URL address of the article for copy and paste purposes. If students paste it (and place it into a Google Doc), the URL will be a hyperlink that will take them directly back into the database and the article. Your Librarian thinks this is a good method, but you still have to go from an address to a link (plus only links will show up with no article names, etc.). The extra steps are tolerable, but they are not even needed with choice #1 - Download.
Reminder: Do not use the “SAVE” feature, because this feature only saves the article while you are in the session. Once you leave get out of the database itself, the material will be lost.
The Discovering Collection provides quick access to accurate information via an intuitive interface that takes the guesswork out of research. Gale's Discovering Collection allows students access to information on any curriculum topic. Designed for the high school student, Gale's Discovering Collection presents a core collection of essays, reference works, and magazine articles on the subjects of biography, history, science, and social studies. Users can search by person, time period, work or genre of literature, or keyword. The database includes the following: biographies, essays and overviews, criticisms, timeline events, primary source documents, images, maps, flags. audio, video, and more. (Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
Access Science provides online access to over 8,500 online articles from the tenth edition of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Articles include bibliographies, links to evaluated related websites and over 15,000 illustrations and graphics. Also included are research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists, and the latest news and videos. Subject areas covered include: agriculture, anthropology, astronomy, biomedical science, chemistry, computing and information technology, earth science, engineering, food science, mathematics, military science, paleontology, physics, psychiatry, psychology, and veterinary science. (Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
INFOhio, a statewide cooperative school library and information network, supports and enriches teaching and learning by providing equitable access to quality resources on a variety of curricular topics for Ohio's PreK-12 community of students, educators and parents. INFOhio's components include electronic resources for schools, instructional development for teachers, and school library automation -- all promoting information literacy and media literacy through the use of technology. INFOhio provides the following: large, organized collections or maps, pictures, and charts; full-text magazine and newspaper articles; online encyclopedias and dictionaries in English and Spanish; homework help and tutorials, test-taking strategies, and more. Explore the many helpful, ever-growing, and ever-changing databases provided by INFOhio. (Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are having difficulty accessing any of the sites below using the hyperlinks provided, try using one of these:
Any school or library with reference content included in Salem's health, history, literature and science databases is entitled to online access to that content. This access is an inherent part of our product. The online databases include a number of up-to-the-minute features: (1) unlimited users at your library; (2) full access from home or school; (3) immediate access via online registration; (4) a simple, intuitive interface; (5) user profile areas for students and patrons; (6) sophisticated search functions; (7) complete content, including appendixes; and (8) full illustrations. The databases offered are as follows:
Salem Health - An extended series of healthcare information for patients, families, caregivers, biology and medical students.
Salem History - Salem's diverse library of biography, history and primary source document reference.
Salem Literature - An extensive collection of author and title-specific reference along with surveys and, of course, Masterplots.
Salem Science - Salem's newest online database provides complete coverage of a variety of scientific topics.
(Be sure to see "Important Password Info" in the upper-left box on this page.)
