If required, do not forget to turn your paper into Turnitin.com.
(Source: Plagiarismchecker.net)
Below you will find helpful links on how to set up Microsoft Word Essays in MLA Format (particularly in regard to margins, page numbers, headers, etc.) as well as a link to Mrs. Frech's Ultimate Writing Guide.
Padua requires you to use MLA format (Modern Languages Association) for your essay, which you will use throughout Padua and for your college English papers. There are several ways to access the set-up features of a document, but one of the simplest things to do is to create a template or to access a template, which means that the set-up has already been done for you, so all you have to do is plug in the necessary information and begin writing the paper. Mrs. Frech (the Librarian) has created a Padua Essay Template in MLA format for you. Follow the directions below to access it, but keep in mind that if you are working on an older system or something other than Google Docs, such as Microsoft Word, the method for formatting may be different.
HOW TO ACCESS & USE THE GOOGLE DRIVE PADUA ESSAY TEMPLATE
First, be sure that the database you are using hasn't already done the work for you. Typically, if provided, the MLA citation can be found at the very end of the article/site, so scroll to the bottom to check.
If the site does not complete the citation for you, another option is to use a citation generator, such as EasyBib (be sure you are the correct format (such as database, or website, etc.) and be sure to "manually" create the citation).
When necessary, site it yourself. Here are a couple sites that show you how to do this: OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab...or...Campus Guide.
Click on the link above (the OWL symbol above) to go to the Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide where you will find information and examples regarding MLA format for citations and works cited.
Google Docs is not like Microsoft Word. If you are having issues formatting the indents for your MLA works cited page on your Google Doc, check out this very helpful one minute video. (Note: There is no sound to this video. Just follow the on-screen directions.)
If your teacher permits, you may want to try using a citation creation helper/generator (though you should know that some teachers may have an issue with these sites because they want you to learn and understand the citation process itself; plus, it is possible that a site may not have the most current, up-to-date information).
If your teacher does permit use of citation generator sites, you still need to understand the citation process and know all of the pertinent information for your source to complete the process correctly (author, publication place, publication date, etc.); however, citation sites such as those below greatly assist with mechanics such as punctuation placement, etc.
IMPORTANT NOTE: For more accurate results and if it is offered, you should always select "manual entry" when possible instead of having the generator locate the website or book. Once you create your citation, you will most likely have to copy and paste it into your own paper. You may have to change the format (font color, font type, etc.) to match your paper.
Here are some commonly used citation makers. To access these citation generators, go to their links by clicking on the site's symbol below (and then follow the site's directions). Keep in mind that there are various citation styles such as MLA, APA, Chicago, etc. Your teacher is most likely using what is called MLA form (Modern Langages Association).
TRY
EasyBib is one of the most user-friendly citation options with a full automatic bibliography maker, and 3 format options: MLA (free!), APA, and Chicago. And it really is easy!
OR
It’s the ultimate automatic bibliography maker with auto-fill. With Bibme, all you have to do is search for a book, website, article, or film, or fill in the information yourself. Add to your bibliography and download in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian format! Check out this great how-to guide for using Bibme!
OR
Citation Machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information they use. Its primary goal is to make it easy for student researchers to cite their information sources. IMPORTANT NOTE: Citation Machine will create citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago style.
"How do I cite an e-book using MLA format?"
In general, a work formatted for reading on an electronic device like Kindle, Nook, and iPad is covered by 5.7.18. Begin the entry in the works-cited list like the entry for a comparable printed work and end it with a designation of the medium of publication. The medium is the type of electronic file, such as Kindle file, Nook file, EPUB file, or PDF file. If you cannot identify the file type, use Digital file. For example:
Rowley, Hazel. Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage. New York: Farrar, 2010. Kindle file.
If the work presents electronic and print publication information, the electronic information should usually be cited.
Most electronic readers include a numbering system that tells users their location in the work. Do not cite this numbering, because it may not appear consistently to other users. If the work is divided into stable numbered sections like chapters, the numbers of those sections may be cited, with a label identifying the nature of the number (6.4.2):
According to Hazel Rowley, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt began their honeymoon with a week’s stay at Hyde Park (ch. 2).
or
Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt began their honeymoon with a week’s stay at Hyde Park (Rowley, ch. 2).
(The abbreviation ch. is shown in 7.4. There is a comma in a parenthetical citation after the author’s name if the following reference begins with a word.)
If the work is a PDF file with fixed pages, cite the page numbers. If the work lacks any kind of stable section numbering, the work has to be cited as a whole (6.4.1)."
The link below will take you to a sample Works Cited page that contains a variety of resources: book(s), database(s), website(s), electronic newspaper(s), periodical(s), etc. Always check with your teacher for specifics, but this sample page will give you a point of reference. Remember to to go to OWL Purdue (see link to the left) for specifics on how to complete every type of citation imaginable from books to databases to images to e-mails to tweets.
What Is MLA Style/MLA Format?
MLA = Modern Languages Association
All fields of research agree on the need to document scholarly borrowings, but documentation conventions vary because of the different needs of scholarly disciplines. MLA style for documentation is widely used in the humanities, especially in writing on language and literature. Generally simpler and more concise than other styles, MLA style features brief parenthetical citations in the text keyed to an alphabetical list of works cited that appears at the end of the work.
MLA style has been widely adopted by schools, academic departments, and instructors for over half a century. The association's guidelines are also used by over 1,100 scholarly and literary journals, newsletters, and magazines and by many university and commercial presses. The MLA's guidelines are followed throughout North America and in Brazil, China, India, Japan, Taiwan, and other countries around the world.
Just so you know...you should be aware that there are other format styles such as APA (American Psychological Association), AMA (American Medical Association), Turabian, Chicago Style, etc.
Source: http://www.mla.org/style
CITATION:
PARENTHETICAL CITATION:
WORKS CITED:
IN-TEXT CITATIONS:
