CAREER RESEARCH & EXPLORATION LIBGUIDE: HOME

"CHOOSE A JOB YOU LOVE...AND YOU'LL NEVER HAVE TO WORK A DAY IN YOUR LIFE."

~CONFUCIUS~

NOT QUITE SURE WHERE TO START? You can be try out your independent researching skills and start exploring on your own...or you can try Mrs. Frech's suggestions for where to start for this particular assignment. 

WHERE SHOULD I BEGIN ON THE LIBGUIDE?

• For the specific requirements of this assignment, I would suggested starting with ”Articles: Articles of Interest to Get You Started” tab > “Careers in Business” section and the “Interesting and Up-to-Date Career Articles Worth a Look” section.
• Go under your area of interest and select.
• On the resulting pages, you will find information on various business degree jobs/titles, best jobs & highest paying jobs in the business field, etc.
• If you see a business degree job/title that interests you, write that down for further research. 
• Once you have a career that interests you (such as Actuary), you could then go under the “Websites: Career Specific Online Resources” tab to find out more about that specific career.
• O*Net is an excellent resource, and it will provide you with specific information such as the following: Outlook, Tasks, Technology Skills, Knowledge, Work Activities, Education, Work Styles, Related Occupations, Wages & Employment Trends, etc. To search, place your career term (like Actuary) in the “Occupation Quick Search” box at the top of the page or under the “Occupation Search” key box.
• For additional O*Net Resources, you may want to explore and browse the helpful “Find Occupations” box (and for this particular project, you could just browse for Business careers on the lists).
• Another quality resource is the “Occupational Outlook Handbook” site. Place your career terms (like Actuary) in the “Search Handbook” box and check out the many helpful sites and articles.
• There are other helpful sites on this page to explore as well.
• If curious or lost…and you’d like to see a job that matches your personal interests and abilities, check out the ”Unsure: Links for Helping You Figure Things Out” tab.
• REMEMBER…these are just suggested starting points. There are many other tabs to check out, so explore away.

PRINT RESOURCES?

• Go to the Padua Library: Destiny Library Catalog tab (or get to it from MyPad > Resources) > put in specific career name and select “keyword” to get the most results (although you could also try “subject” if you get too many results). Be sure to look at nonfiction and not books marked at fiction (FIC label).
• If you see a book in which you are interested, just write down the title, author, and Call #, and I’ll help you find that book.

SUGGESTED DATABASES?

• If you’re interested in seeing present job openings in the Cleveland area, go to the “Database” tab and look under INFOhio > OhioMeansJobs. Put the career in the search box, add in Cleveland, and search away.

OTHER IMPORTANT REMINDERS:

• Remember to keep a doc containing a breadcrumb trail of your visited sites, etc. to assist with later location and citation.
• You can access LibGuides & Databases from home (see "Help at Home" below).
• Locate your Database Username & Password chart, which you need for home use (it was gmailed to you/shared with you).
• Know how to "copy" any information for resources that you cannot check out of the Padua Library.
• Always know that you can stop up in the Library or email Mrs. Frech if you need assistance.

ACCESSING LIBGUIDES: You can access all available LibGuides, Padua Databases, and the Padua Library Catalog both at school and from any place where you have internet access. The LibGuides link and all other required information can be found in MyPad > Groups > Padua Library > Quick Links > LibGuides.

LOOKING FOR A PARTICULAR LIBGUIDE? Remember, if you are looking for a particular LibGuide, go into LibGuides and look under the class SUBJECT. 

DATABASE USERNAME & PW REMINDER: Most Padua Databases require PW info, especially if you are off school premises. This access info is private; therefore, it cannot be posted on this site, so you can find this info in MyPad > Groups > Padua Library > Quick Links > Database Usernames & Passwords