NONFICTION - GENERAL INTEREST & ASSIGNMENT FOR H ENG 9 (Mrs. Bilancini): Public Libraries: Cuyahoga, Medina & Cleveland

WHY DO YOU NEED & WANT A PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD?

• FREE!!!!! Library Cards and all of the loans, services & programs that come along with having a card are FREE!!!!!
• Free access to expensive research databases, journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. (***which will supplement the databases offered by Padua when needed for primary resources during Research Paper assignments, etc.)
• Free Wi-Fi
• Free use of Digital Collections
• Free Streaming Services like Hoopla, Kanopy, Etc. (for music & movies)
• E-Resources (e-Books, e-Audiobooks, e-Magazines)
• Books / DVD's / CD's
• Recording Studios 
• Printing
• HW Help & Tutoring Services
• Cool Apps (Flipster, Kindle, Libby, Overdrive, etc.)
• Events (Book Clubs, Writing Workshops, Fun Events & Programs, etc.)
• A great place to get work done or relax if home is too cold, hot, loud, crazy, or whatever!!!
• And so much more!!!

SO HOW DO I GET A LIBRARY CARD?

• Most public libraries provide the ability to apply online for a library card, which grants new cardholders immediate access to all digital materials, like eBooks, databases, streaming content, etc. Later, if you would like, you can easily convert that online card into an actual library card the next time you are able to stop by your library in-person, which will then give you access to borrow physical items as well. To check out your options, go to the "How To Get a Library Card" links to the right for your closest branch (whether Cuyahoga, Medina, or Cleveland).
• International students can obtain an "Opportunity Card" in-person from their local Library...or they can use the library card of someone in their host family if permitted (see more info below).

If you need any additional information, stop by to see me (Mrs. Frech).

***SO...YOU NEED ACCESS TO THE LIBRARY RIGHT NOW!!!***

HERE'S SOME HELP:

IF YOU NEED A PUBLIC LIBRARY RIGHT NOW...BUT CANNOT GET TO A PUBLIC LIBRARY, HERE ARE YOUR OPTIONS:

1. Apply for a library card online. Most public libraries provide the ability to apply online for a library card, which grants new cardholders immediate access to all digital materials, like eBooks, databases, streaming content, etc. So look on your library's site for the online application. (Btw, you can easily convert that online card into an actual card the next time you are able to stop by your library in-person, which will then give you access to borrow physical items as well.) (See the "How To Get a Library Card" links under each Library.)
2. Use your parents/guardians/family members card if they will permit it. Many of you are only trying to access e-resources (like databases), so you could easily use a parent/guardian/host/family member's library card if they will permit you to do so.
3. If you or your parents/guardians have an older library card that has been deactivated, don't worry. Here's what you need to do. Just call your library and they will reactivate it for you.
4. If you cannot apply for a library card online, and your parents/guardians don't already have a card, they can apply for a card online. An online card gives access to all digital and eResources. (See the "How To Get a Library Card" links under each Library.)
5. International Students & the Opportunity Card: For International students, the easiest option is #2 above; however, if you can physically get to a public library branch, you can ask for an "Opportunity Card," which they will issue to anyone regardless of where you live, age, library fines, etc.While an Opportunity Card card will only permit you to take out three physical items, it will give you full access to all digital/online resources!!!! 

WHAT TYPES OF RESOURCES ARE AVAILABE THROUGH THE PUBLIC LIBRARY???

• Print Resources, like books and magazines.
• DVD's, CD's, Games, etc.
• eResources like eBooks, etc.
• Digital Resources & Databases for academic interests like magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.
• Digital Resources & Databases for personal and recreational interests like ancestry searches, job searches, language learning, etc. 
• Library Apps - FREE apps to loan materials (like Overdrive & Libby) as well as apps to stream podcasts, eBooks, music, movies, TV shows, magazines, and much more. 
• Flipster – Or a similar services that allow you to download digital versions of your favorite magazines.
• Hoopla – Or a similar service that allows you to stream commercial-free albums.
• Kanopy – Or similar service to stream videos, including documentaries, film fest favorites, classics and more. 
• OverDrive Prime Picks – Your most-wanted eBook titles. 

Stay connected by following your public library's Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter accounts.