LibGuides: SPEECH & PUBLIC SPEAKING & PERSUASIVE TOPICS LIBGUIDE: VIEWPOINTS: Opinion, Debate, & Persuasive Sites

GALE: OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY PADUA STUDENTS!!!

(Gale) Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window

IMPORTANT!! GALE OPENING & SAVING & CITATION DIRECTIONS

HOW TO SAVE YOUR INFO: Be sure you know where you are locating information (websites versus databases) & how to save for each type.

SAVING FOR WEBSITES (things found in Google): Bookmark the article or save the URL in a doc.
SAVING FOR DATABASES: You CANNOT bookmark or save the URL for databases. For databases, you MUST save the entire article in your Google Drive. See images below for directions on how to do that for GALE & INFOHIO.

************************************************************************

GALE: SAVING ARTICLES IN GALE DATABASES:

GALE: SAVING MLA CITATIONS IN GALE:

INFOHIO: POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER

(INFOhio) Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window

IMPORTANT!! INFOHIO OPENING & SAVING & CITATION DIRECTIONS

HOW TO SAVE YOUR INFO: Be sure you know where you are locating information (websites versus databases) & how to save for each type.

SAVING FOR WEBSITES (things found in Google): Bookmark the article or save the URL in a doc.
SAVING FOR DATABASES: You CANNOT bookmark or save the URL for databases. For databases, you MUST save the entire article in your Google Drive. See images below for directions on how to do that for GALE & INFOHIO.

************************************************************************

INFOHIO: OPENING & SAVING ARTICLES IN INFOHIO DATABASES:

INFOHIO: SAVING MLA CITATIONS IN INFOHIO:

WEBSITES: OTHER HELPFUL DEBATE SITES

Padua students highly recommend the two databases to the left (Gale: Opposing Viewpoints in Context and INFOhio: Points of View Rerenced Center), but there are many other quality debate sites out there, so give these a try as well. If you need additional information to support your topic, also be sure to check out the "Newspapers & Newspapers & Current Events" tab as well as the "Public Polls & Opinions" tab.

ProCon.org ProCon.org provides resources for critical thinking and education without bias on issues that are controversial and important, and we present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, transparent, and primarily pro-con format at no charge.
Debatabase We are driving a new direction in education, one that empowers young people globally to become critical thinkers, persuasive advocates, and respectful communicators. Our goal is to empower communities by using debate to inspire meaningful dialogue and real-world impact, helping individuals become thoughtful and responsible citizens.
PBS Frontline PBS Frontline provides documentaries and articles on current trending controversial topics.
World Public Opinion Search by region, topic, or public opinion. WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues.
Brookings Institute The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
International Debate Education Association This site is presently down. Stay tuned!!
FactCheck.org We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.

SPEECH & PUBLIC SPEAKING & PERSUASIVE TOPICS LIBGUIDE: VIEWPOINTS: Opinion, Debate, & Persuasive Sites

GALE: OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT

IMPORTANT!! GALE OPENING & SAVING & CITATION DIRECTIONS

HOW TO SAVE YOUR INFO: Be sure you know where you are locating information (websites versus databases) & how to save for each type.

GALE: SAVING ARTICLES IN GALE DATABASES:

GALE: SAVING MLA CITATIONS IN GALE:

INFOHIO: POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER

IMPORTANT!! INFOHIO OPENING & SAVING & CITATION DIRECTIONS

HOW TO SAVE YOUR INFO: Be sure you know where you are locating information (websites versus databases) & how to save for each type.

INFOHIO: OPENING & SAVING ARTICLES IN INFOHIO DATABASES:

INFOHIO: SAVING MLA CITATIONS IN INFOHIO:

WEBSITES: OTHER HELPFUL DEBATE SITES

OTHER LINKS & SUGGESTIONS