IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THIS PAGE
Remember to use the recommendations on the "HOME" tab to guide you where to try first, and then next, etc.
While Googling is an option (when done more effectively), databases will always provide legitimate resources for academic topics.
The Padua Library subscribes to many quality databases (listed under the "DATABASES: List of all Padua Databases" tab above). HOWEVER, based on your specific assignment this year, I would suggest researching the databases listed on THIS PAGE first. If you do not have luck there, then you can go to the "DATABASES: List of All Padua Databases" tab, where all the options are listed.
WHY SHOULD YOU START HERE? GALE DATABASES ARE A STUDENT FAVORITE. Students find it great for finding academic resources, and they also say it's very user-friendly. Our school provides the Gale Databases listed below.
WHAT'S IN EACH OF THESE DATABASES? Hover over each individual database to see what topics it covers.
REMINDER: PASSWORDS & USERNAMES are typically required for all databases (see Password Remind & Help box to the far right).
WHAT CAN I FIND IN THE INFOHIO DATABASES? INFOhio is a free statewide network that provides equitable access to quality resources on a variety of topics.
MAIN INFOHIO PAGE: Look at the icons below to see what each featured database covers. If you want to see all databases offerings by INFOhio, click here to go their main page.
REMINDER: PASSWORDS & USERNAMES are typically required for all databases (see Password Remind & Help box to the far right).
You will sometimes need Usernames/Passwords for Padua's DATABASES, especially off-campus. I cannot publicly share that info on LibGuides, so you can find the info for Passwords/Usernames in MyPad:
MyPad > Groups > Padua Library > Quicklinks > Database Passwords
USERNAMES & PW's: You will most likely need Usernames/Passwords for Padua's subscription DATABASES when accessing them outside of Padua. See info in the PASSWORDS REMINDER & HELP box on this page for further assistance.
SAVING INFO FROM DATABASES: WARNING!!! DATABASES are NOT like websites, so copying & pasting a URL will NOT get you back to the article!!! To save Database articles correctly, you must SAVE DIRECTLY TO YOUR GOOGLE DRIVE.
RECOMMENDATIONS & WHERE TO START IN DATABASES: Refer to the Home page of each LibGuides for starting suggestions.
Padua's Library provides our students with FREE access to databases that are evaluated for authority, accuracy, and currency. Databases are intended for academic research, and their information is reliable, so teachers will recommend and approve of them. You can access them from school or outside of school.
Bonus!! Databases provide MLA citation info for your Works Referenced / Works Cited page.
