You are on this page because you are searching for information for a particular genetic disease/disorder and you have been told that you must use a certain number of databases. At Padua, we are trying to help you become more effective searchers and users of information. With that in mind, let's consider why you should use databases in addition to or (preferably) in place of general internet resources.
I am sure that as a Padua student, you have noticed that teachers push you toward databases. Why should you use a database?
Why should you use a Padua database (instead of Google or the internet in general)?
IMPORTANT NOTES:
Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.
Access Science Online by clicking on logo below or by using the direct link provided at the bottom of this box.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure you have database passwords, which can be obtained in the following ways: (1) S: drive > Databases, (2) S: drive > Library, (3) copy of handout available in Padua Library, (4) passwords on bulletin board in Library Computer Area, and (5) handout from your English teacher.
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Access Consumer Health Complete (INFOhio) by clicking on the logo below or by using the direct link provided at the bottom of this box.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure you have database passwords, which can be obtained in the following ways: (1) S: drive > Databases, (2) S: drive > Library, (3) copy of handout available in Padua Library, (4) passwords on bulletin board in Library Computer Area, and (5) handout from your English teacher.
Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. In general, Facts On File is one of America’s leading publishers of print and online reference materials for the school and library market. Known to librarians worldwide as "the Information Publisher," Facts On File has been publishing quality reference titles since 1941. Our list has grown to more than 1,300 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others.
Access Science Online by clicking on the logo below or by using the direct link provided at the bottom of this box.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure you have database passwords, which can be obtained in the following ways: (1) S: drive > Databases, (2) S: drive > Library, (3) copy of handout available in Padua Library, (4) passwords on bulletin board in Library Computer Area, and (5) handout from your English teacher.
Science Reference Center (INFOhio) provides easy access to a multitude of full-text, science-oriented content, and it contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals.
Access Science Reference Center (INFOhio) by clicking on the logo below or by using the direc t link provided at the bottom of this box.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Be sure you have database passwords, which can be obtained in the following ways: (1) S: drive > Databases, (2) S: drive > Library, (3) copy of handout available in Padua Library, (4) passwords on bulletin board in Library Computer Area, and (5) handout from your English teacher.
