*** HELP FOR EVERYONE *** (Databases, HW & Research Help, Tutorials, Padua Library Catalog, Just for Fun Sites, and More...): NEWS: Current Events & News
This LibGuide provides links to the following: Chromebook tips, researching tips, databases provided by the Padua Franciscan Library, HW Help, tutorials, dictionaries, the DESTINY Library catalog, and more! Use the orange tabs below to navigate
FactCheck.orgWe are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
NewselaNewsela is an online platform featuring high-interest articles on everything from current events to myths and legends and from literature to science. (Create a FREE account for general access using your Google credentials.)
Library of Congress: Chronicling AmericaSearch and view newspaper pages and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. All articles are full-text
Free Historic U.S. Newspapers by StateThis guide provides access to digitized free historic newspaper resources by U.S. state and are arranged alphabetically by state. Holdings vary by date and location. Some are provided by the Library of Congress' Chronicling America website and others may be provided by state historical societies, public or university libraries, and state libraries and archives
Google News ArchiveGoogle News Archive is an extension of Google News. It provides free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to the 18th century. There is a timeline view available to help you select news from a specific period.
Historical U.S. Newspapers OnlineA guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet. If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.
Open Access DigitizedThis list includes many resources that are NOT available for free. BUT - scroll through the list and look for "Open Access Digitized Newspaper Collections." You will find historical collections of newspapers organized by United States regions. There are also other resources in the whole list that may be of interest. Look for the lock icon, in the unlocked version.
Library of Congress: Newspaper Archives, Indexes & MorguesOffering a different way to search for US historical newspapers. You will find links to full text websites, and also websites that offer indexes to stories in these newspapers. Last but not least, you can also find links to newspaper photograph morgues.
PUBLIC POLLS & PUBLIC OPINION
Pew Research Center (Home)Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts. Covered areas: U.S. Politics / Media & News / Social Trends / Religion / Internet & Tech / Science / Hispanics / Global / ...and more.
Gallup PollsGallup delivers forward-thinking research, analytics, and advice to help leaders solve their most pressing problems. Combining more than 75 years of experience with its global reach, Gallup knows more about the attitudes and behaviors of the world's constituents, employees, and customers than any other organization. Be sure to search under desired category.
Polling ReportAn independent, nonpartisan resource
on polls/trends in American public opinion.
DEBATE, OPINION, & PERSUASION
Explore the VIEWPOINTS: Opinion, Debate & Persuasive Sites tab for helpful & suggested databases and websites.
TIPS FOR HOW TO FIND PRIMARY SOURCES
For help in finding PRIMARY sources, go to the SOURCES: Primary vs. Secondary tab on this LibGuides.
