Skip to Main Content

*** HELP FOR EVERYONE *** (Databases, HW & Research Help, Tutorials, Padua Library Catalog, Just for Fun Sites, and More...): GENEALOGY & ANCESTRY CLASSROOM

This LibGuide provides links to the following: Chromebook tips, researching tips, databases provided by the Padua Franciscan Library, HW Help, tutorials, dictionaries, the DESTINY Library catalog, and more! Use the orange tabs below to navigate

ANCESTRY CLASSROOM - WHAT IS IT?

Empowering the Next Generation of History Makers

Ancestry Classroom® provides educators and students with access to resources, learning tools, and Ancestry® historical record collections at no cost to help individuals find their personal place in history.

WHAT IS ANCESTRY CLASSROOM?

Ancestry Classroom is a free online resource for educators and students that provides access to all of Ancestry's historical record collections, including content from Fold3.com and Newspapers.com (see info in directions below). The program is intended to help students learn about history and their own personal place in it by exploring primary source documents, such as census data, marriage certificates, and military records. It also provides lesson plans, professional learning tools, and a family history starter kit to help teachers integrate genealogical research into their curriculum.  

WHAT IS FOLD3?

Fold3, owned by Ancestry, is a military database that provides access to to a vast collection of U.S. military records, such as service records, draft cards, casualty lists, stories, photos, and documents from the Revolutionary War to modern conflicts. The name "Fold3" comes from a flag-folding ceremony, where the third fold honors veterans.  While focused on U.S. military history, it also includes select records from international conflicts and non-military records like city directories and naturalization records. Users can search by individual's name, conflict, place, or military branch, or browse record collections to find information. 

WHAT IS NEWSPAPER.COM?

Ancestry Classroom's Newspapers.com allows individuals to research their family history and local history through archived digitized newspaper pages containing articles, obituaries, birth announcements, and more.The intended use is for individuals to research their own family history and learn about broader historical events through access to primary source material. (Safety Note: To protect student privacy, students cannot create their own online profiles or trees on the platform. They can, however, print or save records they find to build their family trees on paper.)  

 

ACCESS DIRECTIONS FOR ANCESTRY CLASSROOM RESOURCES

STUDENTS & TEACHERS:

Use this hyperlink (https://www.ancestryclassroom.com) to go Ancestry Classroom (access is set up and ready to go).  

You can use the following hyperlinks to access the additional resources of Fold3 (http://www.fold3.com) and Newspapers (Newspapers.com). 

***Find descriptions of what each of these sites offer in the above box.

 

TEACHERS:

You can visit our Resources pages to find materials such as lesson plans, videos, charts, forms, etc. for ideas of how to utilize Ancestry Classroom as part of your curriculum.

TROUBLE-SHOOTING:
  • When you sign in, please do not apply for another grant. All of Padua has access under the present grant. If you have any questions, stop up to see your Librarian...or...go to https://www.ancestryk12.com.
  • Here is a link to Ancestry's troubleshooting guide in case you run into issues. (Note that you may have to clear your browser's cache/cookies before the site will log you in).
  • When you visit Ancestry Classroom from an authenticated device, the home page should look like the image below. If it does not, please contact your Librarian, who will contact Ancestry.com to troubleshoot your access.

SPECIAL THANKS

Special thanks to Ms. Lora Winger, Theology & Law teacher, for providing the Ancestry Classroom service complete with Fold3 and Newspapers.com via a grant which she acquired in 2025.

Access to Ancestry Classroom is set up in 3-year blocks that will automatically renew at the end of that term unless a formal request is made to discontinue access.

Enjoy your journey!!

ADDITIONAL GENEALOGY RESOURCES

Explore below for additional genealogy resources:

Safety Tips:

  • As students, avoid paid sites; however, note the name of the site if interested, because your public library might provide access (*see note).
  • Be very cautious about giving out any personal information. When in doubt, stop up to ask your Library or Help Desk if the site is legitimate.

Public Library Note:

  • If you are not finding what you need, be sure to check out your local Public Library for additional resources that are provided free of charge via access through your library card. See links below.